Latest Reviews for Sailing Schools

Date Submitted: September 2, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 10 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Great choice
We chose Hercules Sailing because of the smaller class sizes and the overall feeling that we would have a more intense learning experience and they did not disappoint! Chris is a terrific teacher and Mandy was always on point. As novices Chris gave us a feeling of security and confidence to move forward with our sailing adventures and we are very grateful.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Shelby
29 year-old   ::   Female Reviewer   ::   Switzerland

Date Submitted: August 9, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 10 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Day skipper
Could not fault the course in any shape or form. Its a small group so training feels more personal. Excellent skipper/ instructor, nothing much this man doesnt know about sailing.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Ivan
47 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Guildford

Date Submitted: August 9, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 9 out of 10
School Facilities: 10 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 9 out of 10
Cost: 9 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Great weeks sailing
I spent a great week doing my competent crew course with hurcules sailing.
Very comprehensive instruction and practical application.
Great company, great weather,friendly and fun.
I will be looking to do my day skippers next


Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Paul
48 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   London

Date Submitted: August 5, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 9 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Day Skipper Tidal
I attended the Day Skipper 5 day course at the beginning of July, The main reasons I chose Hercules and I was glad I did was the experience of Chris as an Instructor and It was more of a family feel the way he and Mandy taught us, I used to teach Dingy sailing a lifetime ago and I like the way Chris taught us he has got a fantastic personality It was much better than somebody just going through the motions of the syllabus. We went through the syllabus over and over again through the week up and down the Spanish coast .We visited Puerto Deportivo De La Duquesa, Sotogrande, Night sailing to Ceuta and a few other marinas during the day.
The small classes there where three of us Florian and Shelby and we had separate cabins the other schools in GIB offered that but at an extra cost for a single person but it was all in at the same price with Hercules.
Gibraltar is ideal place to lean to sail its Tidal has constant currents and lots of other shipping in the Bay and the Straights
We all passed the Day Skipper Course

Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Peter Webbe
47 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Port Talbot, Wales

Date Submitted: July 28, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 9 out of 10
School Facilities: 9 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 9 out of 10
Cost: 9 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Great Experience
I did competent crew with Chris in July 2016. I was lucky enough to have a Coastal Skipper candidate on board so after a couple of days of basics we sailed across the Gibraltar channel (in the dark) and spent a couple of days in Morocco.

The whole experience was great both practically and socially. Chris worked well with different levels of experience – from an ex-navy guy to nervous novice. And at the end of the day we ended up in some great restaurants sinking not a few drinks.

Highly recommended.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: James
44 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   UK

Date Submitted: July 5, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 9 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 9 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Good sailing good tuition good fun
Louise and I have sailed with Mandy and Chris for several years either for qualifications or for experience.This year Louise had taken a VHF Theory Course on line and successfully took the exam with Mandy on board in Gibraltar. I have been studying the Coastal Skipper Theory Course on line and completed the practical course with Chris and am arranging to fly back to do the Theory exam. We both benefitted from the experience of Mandy and Chris and would heartily recommend Hercules Sailing
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: David Hinchliffe
61 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Manchester

Date Submitted: July 4, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 9 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 9 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Coastal Skipper Course theory and practical
Had a great enjoyable two weeks with Mandy and Chris in Gibraltar doing the Coastal Skipper theory and practical. Was going to do the theory on line but I know there are so many distractions out there that I would struggle. Mandy was a true pro with the theory tough but fair and was quick to spot when my brain was going into melt down.Chris on the practical side was very professional and patient making sure that me and my fellow crew mates totally got it before moving on. On shore Chris was great company too. The instructor to student ratio (1:3)was perfect and we all had our own cabins (we did see other schools with a ration of 1:5!). Would not hesitate in recommending Hercules Sailing School. Would like to thank Chris and Mandy for helping me to achieve the skill set and confidence to skipper my own boat and crew.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Stan
55 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Surrey

Date Submitted: June 20, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 9 out of 10
School Facilities: 9 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 9 out of 10
Cost: 9 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Day skipper
My friend and I both did my day skipper course over 5 days in May based in Gibraltar. The course was very well organised and covered all essential elements. It helped us complete our qualifications and given a boost to our confidence to do more sailing. We will definitely book more training with Hercules in the future.
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Don McQueen
54 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Bournmeouth

Date Submitted: May 30, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 10 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 10 out of 10
Cost: 9 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Mandy and Chris are incredible teachers
I was in Gibraltar from 13rd to 22nd of April for Day Skipper course . For me it was an awesome experience .
First 5 days Mandy taught me theory with incredible patient and knowledge , and I have to really thanks her because she lost a lot of time to push me !
Chris the last 5 days on the boat he was super nice to teach all the maneuvers and repeating again again and again until it comes instinctive . Wonderful people , happy days ...waiting to go back there again for my coastal !! see u soon
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Marco
40 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Italy

Date Submitted: May 24, 2016
Sailing School: Hercules Sailing
Location: Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Classes & Instruction: 10 out of 10
School Facilities: 10 out of 10
Boats & Courses: 10 out of 10
Cost: 10 out of 10
Recommend: Yes
Review: Great day skipper course
I did my day skipper course and my wife competent crew over 5 days in Gibraltar. The course was very well organised and covered all essential elements. It helped us complete our qualifications and given a boost to our confidence to do more sailing. We will definitely book more training in the future
Comments [ 0 ]
Submitted by: Alan
56 year-old   ::   Male Reviewer   ::   Oldham